“It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity!” they say.

I had not experienced the Mid-South summer weather since 2007, a few months before we left for a year of language school in Costa Rica.  After Costa Rica, the past two summers were spent in the coolness and low humidity of the Ecuadorian Andes Mountains.   I have really come to appreciate the “natural air-conditioning” which normally consists of highs in the 70’s and lows in the 50’s.  Perfect temperatures, if not a little cool at times.  In fact, we had huddled close around the fire pit in our yard each night for the past two weeks or so with the short-term team from FBC Wellston, OK.    As I soaked up the heat of the fire, I couldn’t escape that feeling of dread, knowing that in a few days, as I returned to the States, the air temperature would probably feel about the same as that fire!  I wondered if I would be able to take it.

Last Friday at 6 a.m. local time, Eli and I stepped off the plane in Atlanta and there it was, just as oppressive as I had remembered it – that dreaded humidity.   I really believe the sun is more intense there on the equator in Ecuador, but things just don’t heat up like they do here.  I believe I could take the heat, but as they say, “It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity!”  I’ve been relieved to rediscover that it is not unbearable all day long, everyday, so far.  I am thankful that there are times when it clouds up and cools off and at times there is a good breeze.  However, I catch myself planning around the heat, and haven’t been brave enough to get on my bike yet.  No wonder I’m looking forward to returning to Ecuador on the 16th!

Yes, I’m in the States for a few days.  I don’t know how many of our blog readers receive our newsletter, so in a subsequent post I will offer an explanation and the details of the changes as we are entering a new phase of ministry.   Also, since we have not posted anything since May, I will try to catch you up on what we’ve been doing recently in Ecuador.

Leave a comment